Prayer Shawl Ministry

I believe it is important to use the gifts God has given us to His glory. For me personally God gifted me with the ability to create; I am a painter, sewer, embroiderer, and knitter. The prayer shawl ministry is a wonderful way for me to give of the gift of knitting that God bestowed on me.

Paul called upon us to “pray without ceasing” (1 Thess. 5:17). It is all too easy to tell someone ‘I am praying for you’. We pray for those in need and in thanksgiving daily. Prayer shawls have been around for centuries. In Hebrew times they were worn by men. Today however, the prayer shawl is given and to be worn by anyone.

It is an outward representation of your prayers, given freely and never sold.

000_0007

The shawl has been knitted in the softest yarns available. I want the shawl or wrap to be comfortable and inviting, encouraging the recipient to wrap themselves in your prayers.shawls-062011

While some shawls are knit with no specific person in mind but with general prayers of thanksgiving and health said. I prefer to knit with the recipient in mind, weaving thoughts and prayers throughout the shawl for them.dsc_0081-1

I personally prefer to have a name and background on the recipient when knitting a prayer shawl. The shawl pictured here was knit for a bride.bridal-prayer-shawl

I ask for a color preference, consider climate location of the recipient, and any specific prayer requests when determining yarn and pattern appropriate for the shawl I will knit.shawl-recipient-england

Completed shawls are blessed by clergy. I feel this is important as I knit alone and the shawls generally only pass through my hands. I believe this goes to the verse, ‘when two or more are gathered, I am with you’.

A prayer card with information (including care instructions) is given with the shawl to the recipient.

For more information or to request a shawl be made for you or a loved one, please contact me at 480-374-0096 or by email at prayershawlinfo@gmail.com. For updates on shawls made visit https://wordpress.com/prayershawlinfo.wordpress.com

 

Leave a comment